Returning Home- Celebrating Change

I am back to Aotearoa New Zealand my soul home after my travels and would, like to dedicate this post to celebrating change, returning home, acknowledging my many homes and my many teachers.

I have been away the last seven years mainly based in Switzerland and travelled back to New Zealand on work and leisure, travelled to China to teach, to Bali where I trained as a yoga teacher, to India, Italy- the home of Reggio Emillia and many more countries around Europe. All this time while the geography changed, my personal history got written/rewritten; and all this while I held on to my identity (one of) as an early childhood teacher. This remained and got remade. I reflected on my past learning while looking around me to make new connections, to revisit philosophies and beliefs, restart, remake, revive my thinking. I soaked in new learning, similarities/differences and new perspectives. Met strangers who became friends, collaborators, mentors and mentees. Sometimes met those who challenged me deeply and to those I owe my maximum growth as they made me review, relook and reflect on my practice. I have started this exercise of looking at myself from the outside as one of the ways to reflect and endeavour to stay true, authentic and robust in my practice. It is the hardest exercise and definitely a work in progress.

I will write organically about my learnings from each of these environments that I experienced in my travels. I will return to my current environment here in Aotearoa as I make more connections and learning discoveries-Some ‘Aha’ moments!

This post is an acknowledgement of my repatriation back to New Zealand, and an opportunity to not only acknowledge change but to celebrate it. An opportunity to share my learnings as I evolve and learn.

When we understand change as a constant, when we start looking beyond ourselves, we are filled with gratitude for the learning that change brings in.

Celebrate change!

Beginnings/endings

evolving, connecting, growing

Leave a comment